Beyond Buzzwords: Transforming Philippine Agriculture!

2019 Rice Achievers Award (Nov. 27, 2020)

Author: DA Communications Group | 27 November 2020

Agriculture Secretary William Dar led the awarding during the 2019 Rice Achievers Awards (RAA) on November 27, 2020 held at the Bureau of Soils and Water Management.

The awarding ceremony was led by Sec. Dar, Undersecretary for Operations Ariel T. Cayanan, Assistant Secretary Liza G. Battad, Agricultural Training Institute (ATI) Director Rosana P. Mula, and BSWM Executive Director Sonia M. Salguero.

Joining them were Magsasaka Partylist Representative Argel Cabadbad and National Irrigation Administration (NIA) Deputy Administrator Engr. C’zar M. Sulaik.

The winners were selected by a Technical Working Group (TWG) composed of the Agricultural Training Institute (ATI) with members from the DA National Rice Program, Agriculture and Fisheries Information Division, Philippine Rice Research Institute (PhilRice), Philippine Center for Postharvest Development and Mechanization (PhilMech), Bureau of Soils and Water Management (BSWM), National Irrigation Administration (NIA), Bureau of Agricultural Research (BAR), Bureau of Plant Industry (BPI), National Food Authority (NFA), and Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA).

Here is the complete list of winners:

Special Recognition

  • Champion of Philippine Agriculture: Senator Cynthia A. Villar
  • Lifetime Contributor Award: Dr. V. Bruce J. Tolentino
  • Legacy Award: Dr. Santiago R. Obien
  • Service Excellence Award: Dr. Andrew B. Villacorta, CESO III

Outstanding Small Water Irrigation System Associations (SWISAs)


  • Association of United Farmers and Irrigators of Duplas, Inc.
  • Lucban Small Water Irrigation System Associations, Inc.
  • Masalipit Small Water Irrigation System Associations, Inc.


  • Durog Irrigators Association •
  • Pansul United Farmers Association •
  • Upper Buyogan Small Water Impounding System Association, Inc.

Outstanding Irrigators Association (IAs)

National Irrigation System (NIS) Luzon

  • Peñaranda Irrigators Association NIS VisMin
  • Palacatian Irrigators Associations Inc.
  • Kasanag Farmers Irrigators Multi-purpose Cooperative, Inc. (FIMPCO)
  • Evergreen Malamboon Farmers Irrigators Association, Inc.
  • Poblacion Banaybanay Division A Pilot Irrigators’ Association (POBDAPIA), Inc.

Communal Irrigation System (CIS) VisMin

  • Ugasan-Juanico Irrigators Association, Inc.
  • Tagbawto-Hilusig Communal Irrigators Association, Inc.
  • Azusano Irrigators Association, Inc.
  • Taytayan Irrigators Association, Inc.
  • Kamalaka Irrigators Association, Inc.

Outstanding Provinces

Category A

  • Pangasinan
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Bulacan
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Isabela
  • Cagayan
  • Bukidnon

Category B

  • Zambales
  • Lanao Del Norte

Category C

  • Davao Oriental

The DA holds the RAA annually, which aims to recognize the efforts of top rice producers in the Philippines. It is a way for the Department to motivate and show appreciation to institutions, groups, and individuals for their significant contributions in providing Filipinos quality and affordable rice.  (Text by Kristel Merle/DA-AFID and Photos by Alan Jay Jacalan/DA-AFID)


Bidders' Forum

This event aims to apprise the Bidders on the Standard Bidding Procedures of the Department of Agriculture - Office of the Secretary and the introduction of Green Procurement conditions in the procurement of Lease of Venue, Catering of Food Provision and I.T. Equipment.

As such, we highly encourage you to join and participate in this meaningful event as we have allotted two (2) slots per company on a "First come, First Served" basis. This activity will be held in Region IV-A, exact location to be announced.

Registration Link: