Beyond Buzzwords: Transforming Philippine Agriculture!

DA, DOTr, DOE MOA Signing for the “Palamigan ng Bayan” Program (Mar 12, 2021)

Author: DA Communications Group | 12 March 2021

The departments of agriculture (DA), transportation (DOTr), and energy (DOE) are joining forces to provide farming and fishing communities access to refrigerated container vans or reefer vans that will benefit both producers and consumers.

Agriculture secretary William Dar, transportation secretary Arthur Tugade, and energy secretary Alfonso Cusi signed on March 12, 2021 a tripartite agreement to strengthen and expand the implementation of the existing “Palamigan ng Bayan” program for the agri-fishery sector in strategic areas nationwide.

The “Palamigan ng Bayan” program was previously led by the DOTr in 2018, deploying a dozen reefer vans in selected sites, that served as cold storage facilities of farmers and fishers to preserve the quality of perishable goods, reduce wastage and fetch reasonable prices. This time the DOTr is partnering with the DA and DOE not only to strengthen the “Palamigan ng Bayan” program, but also to expand and sustain it to cover more areas and thus benefit more farmers and fishers nationwide.

Under their memorandum of agreement (MOA), the three agencies will promote the use of refrigerated container vans as cold storage facilities to store fresh fruits, vegetables, fish, meat products, and other perishable goods to address concerns on food quality and safety. (Photo by Alan Jay Jacalan, DA-AFID)

Bidders' Forum

This event aims to apprise the Bidders on the Standard Bidding Procedures of the Department of Agriculture - Office of the Secretary and the introduction of Green Procurement conditions in the procurement of Lease of Venue, Catering of Food Provision and I.T. Equipment.

As such, we highly encourage you to join and participate in this meaningful event as we have allotted two (2) slots per company on a "First come, First Served" basis. This activity will be held in Region IV-A, exact location to be announced.

Registration Link: