Beyond Buzzwords: Transforming Philippine Agriculture!

SAGE Meeting (Jan. 21, 2021)

Author: DA Communications Group | 21 January 2021

The Secretary of Agriculture’s Group of Experts (SAGE) chaired by national scientist, Dr. Emil Q. Javier, tackled urgent concerns including food security, rural credit, and fisheries, during the advisory group’s third meeting on January 21, 2021.

Agriculture Secretary William Dar presented the country’s food security situation and highlighted the Department of Agriculture’s (DA) elevated action to improve the inventory of food supplies, stabilize prices, and address the African swine fever (ASF). He added that the “One DA” holistic approach presented by Policy and Planning Undersecretary Rodolfo Vicerra will bring the DA offices together to focus programs and investments in increasing productivity and incomes of farmers.

SAGE members present during the meeting include former agriculture secretaries, namely: Senen C. Bacani and Leonardo Q. Montemayor; and former socio-economic planning secretary and NEDA director-general, Dr. Cielito F. Habito.

Agricultural Credit Policy Council (ACPC) Director Jocelyn Alma R. Badiola presented updates on the provision of rural credit, and Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR) Director Eduardo B. Gongona discussed the fisheries program updates.

Composed of luminaries in agriculture, science, economics, and agribusiness, the SAGE is tasked to advise Secretary Dar and the DA management. (Photos by Alarico Nuestro, DA-AFID)

Bidders' Forum

This event aims to apprise the Bidders on the Standard Bidding Procedures of the Department of Agriculture - Office of the Secretary and the introduction of Green Procurement conditions in the procurement of Lease of Venue, Catering of Food Provision and I.T. Equipment.

As such, we highly encourage you to join and participate in this meaningful event as we have allotted two (2) slots per company on a "First come, First Served" basis. This activity will be held in Region IV-A, exact location to be announced.

Registration Link: